2012

Happy New Year!

2011 for me was, if not quite as surprising as 2010, at least as momentous. I moved to the city which will likely become a long-term home for me. I was accepted into, and began, a master’s program and began shaping actual grownup-style career plans. I decided I wanted to marry that ridiculous, smart, caring, and passionate boy I live with, and happily for me he decided he wanted to marry me too. I rejoiced as several of my dear friends made similar decisions in their own relationships. I met two more amazing lovers, who nurture me, challenge me, and have shown me incredible forgiveness and acceptance when I needed it most. I began building family, traditions, and support networks of my own.

I have big plans for 2012, mostly building on what I’ve done in 2011. Get married; inch my way toward financial stability; continue building my relationships in our extended poly family; get close to completing my master’s, and decide whether to apply for a doctorate; begin teaching and speaking about different aspects of human sexuality.

Apart from these I have a few specific resolutions. One is to keep writing fiction regularly, if not prolifically. I find that I still have a mental and emotional need that is only satisfied by writing stories, and amid all the other work and play I have to do, I think I’ll be healthier and happier if I continue to make time for it, even if it’s only a few hours a week. Another is to begin engaging in debates with people who disagree with me, particularly about religion and sexuality: I still have a pretty deep discomfort with expressing my opinions if I know I’m in a hostile room, and I want to get better at that. A third is to continue the work, which I began several years ago but let fall off, of getting more in touch with my sensations and emotions, through awareness meditation, deliberate attention, and continually confronting the fears that motivate the disconnection.

I wish for all of you a year filled with growth, happiness, and love.

2 thoughts on “2012

  1. I have mixed feelings about engaging in debate/argument, ever since reading that most arguments leave both parties more set in their own point of view—and in fact DEEPER into their own point of view and less willing to consider another. I know it CAN happen that someone comes away from an argument with a better understanding of the other point of view—but my own experience shows me that in my own family circle, trying to point out, for example, a problem with a religious statement, only leads to bad feelings AND to them drawing more into the protective shell, MORE convinced that they are following the one true light.

    Like

  2. Mm, perhaps I should have clarified: I want to debate mostly with internet people in forums where discussions about ideas are part of the purpose. I agree that debating friends and family is more often damaging than productive; that might be true of internet debates too, but I think it would be good for me to dive into the fray, at least for a little while.

    Like

Leave a Reply

