Dear Philip Pullman

The Writerly Blog of Lane William Brown

Spoilers for the His Dark Materials trilogy ahead.

Dear Philip Pullman,

I am a bit late to your party. The same parents who objected to Harry Potter for its alleged Satanism, Halloween for its history of Paganism, and Pokemon for… whatever that was about, objected to your epic fantasy trilogy because of its blatant, explicit villanization of churches who primarily operate by condemning perfectly harmless things. Shocking plot twist, I know. In any case, I thought your trilogy was incredible. It was subtle, beautiful, complex, rich, and full of characters I absolutely loved. I was sure this would become one of my new favorite series, destined to be reread for years to come.

Then I got to the ending. And now that I have done so, I would like to formally register the following complaints.

  1. When frequently stating that Lyra’s destiny is to be tempted and make a choice that…

View original post 1,465 more words

Leave a Reply

